Uncategorized

The Existential Pastry Chef

smore1

First off I had to google how to spell “existential.”  So why am I here?  To become a better blogger. Scratch that to share what I love to do.  I don’t know where my mantra came from, but when it comes to my craft everyday I Love what I do, I want to share what I do, and in time duplicate what I do.

I call myself The Sugar Peddler, but my driver’s license says Saidah.  Very nice to meet you.  I am a pastry chef.  I teach cooking classes, and I am working on opening my first pastry boutique.  In the meantime I want to build a following through blogging about all things cupcakes, eclairs, cream puffs, lollipops, baking in general, and my latest love, French Macarons.

chef in motion

I’m a rule breaker and I consciously avoid all things indoctrinated.  If everyone is for it on the surface I am against it.  No 1984 no mind control no group think.  With my latest intrigue of making the perfect French Macaron I am set out to remove the artificial, pretty on the eye, color and give you an au natural, rustic elegant, good for your insides, chocolate macaron.  Sans the almonds and introduce ground pumpkin seeds, cashews, and mixed nuts.

Did I mention I live in Cleveland?  I love Cleveland.  I fell in love with food and flavor in Cleveland.  In my pastries you will find flavors inspired by my journey and life with my daughters in Cleveland.  Some chefs have had the fortunate pleasure of traveling abroad to study their craft.  For me Cleveland is my  Paris.

Cupcake Bouquet

Cupcake Bouquet

Sweetest regards,

The Sugar Peddler

<b><a href=”https://www.etsy.com/shop/SweetOliviaRose?ref=hdr_shop_menu”>Shop Sweet Olivia Rose on Etsy</a></b>

11 thoughts on “The Existential Pastry Chef

  1. Oh my goodness! I have died and gone to heaven! Baked goods are such a weakness for me. Hubby is a chef, but leaves the pastry to others, so anytime I can virtually eat such tasty treats, I’m all over it! I look forward to your future goodies! 🙂

  2. Would love to see a good sugarless apple pie recipe…as long as there are no fake ingredients in it! Loved your bogging 101 post. Looking forward to seeing more of your blog!

  3. Pastry! Oh my gosh, have all the ‘yes’ in my life. Nothing beats the tiny perfection that is the profiterole. Well, I guess it’d be the French Macaron for you. Shall I confess something? I don’t think I’ve ever had one before (eep). Either I had a forgettable encounter, which is sad, or I keep getting intimidated by the price for such a small bite, which is sadder. Help me?

    Looking forward to reading so much more from you, Blogging 101 classmate!
    – Jill @ kyaruandbunnies.wordpress.com

    • My profiterole craze just ended, but I still bake them often. Still working on getting them perfectly crisp and filled. When it comes to French Macarons you can’t truly appreciate why they cost $1.50 – $2.00 until you make them. Yes the ingredients are a little more expensive, but it’s the chef’s caring you are paying for. One small mishap and you simply have wafer cookies, tasty still, but nonetheless not a macaron. I hope you try my recipe to find out what all the hub bub is all about!

  4. As someone interested in clean eating but wants to be able to have an occasional treat I am looking forward to your posts (and hoping they include recipes 😉 )

    • Clean eating! Thank you for understanding what that means. I will post recipes of my sweet treats that are free of all things artificial. Although someone did say to me even artificial ingredients start with natural ingredients. I don’t add any unnatural coloring or flavors. You just get nice clean flavors. My first recipes are coming up soon! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

