Recipe

Apple Pie Hold The Sugar

1235190_10200890649688184_765729506_nMy elevator pitch usually starts off like this:

There is definitely a trend that we want to eat healthier, but what can I as a sugar peddler offer to a healthy eating trend…

With this in mind I am careful about the kind of sugar that I use, but sometimes you have that one person who wants no sugar at all.  I don’t want to say no to their request, but I don’t want to say yes to using sugar alcohols, chemically processed sugar-free alternatives, and I have yet to master the art of using stevia.

Picture it Thanksgiving 2012 my first sugar free order, no honey, no agave, no maple syrup, no artificial sweeteners.  How about a sugarless apple pie? No sugar in the crust, no sugar in the pie.  It all begins with a jug of Apple Cider.  For me it has to be from Woolf Farms.  One of my favorite places to be in Cleveland is at the North Union Farmers Market early Saturday morning.  And when it is in season I am sure to grab 1/2 gallon of Apple Cider from Woolf Farms.  This family is so open about their processes and will tell you the story of each apple if you have the time.

Ingredients

Crust

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 4 oz butter (cut in cubes and chilled)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup ice water

Filling

  • 32 oz apple cider
  • 1 Bag of mulling spices
  • 2 Tbs cornstarch
  • 4 Green Apples
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch nutmeg

How To

Crust

  1. In a food processor combine flour and salt and pulse until combined
  2. Add butter and pulse until the flour and butter resemble small peas
  3. Add in water and pulse until dough looks like a shaggy mass ( I love that word.  Not too dry and not too wet, you may need to add additional water)
  4. Turn dough out onto floured surface and knead 4-5 times until the dough comes together (kneading is all in the palm of your hand.  Push the dough forward with the palm of your hand and fold it back together)
  5. Flatten the dough lightly and place in plastic wrap
  6. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes (we want cold butter in our dough when it hits the hot oven)

Filling

  1. Place Apple Cider in medium sauce pot and simmer until the cider is reduced by half
  2. Add muling spices and bring to a boil
  3. Turn off heat and allow to cool
  4. Cut apples in half and core out the middle with a melon baller (This will make for a prettier presentation)
  5. Slices apples about 1/4 inch in thickness and place in a bowl (Should you use lemon water well they are going to brown when you bake them so save your lemon)
  6. Sprinkle cinnamon and nutmeg over apples ensuring all apples are covered
  7. Whisk 2 tablespoons of cooled mulled apple cider with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch (this is a cornstarch slurry) whisk slurry back into mulled apple cider

Assemble

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees (Be sure to know if your oven runs hot or not.  For my own oven I would reduce the heat to 325)
  2. On a floured surface roll out the pie dough large enough to fit in your pie pan (be sure to flour your pin so it doesn’t stick to the dough)
  3. Place dough in pie pan and crimp edges <– click for all the pretty crimping options
  4. Egg wash your crimped edges (egg wash is 1 egg about a teaspoon of cream and a pinch of salt)
  5. Place your apples in pie dough.  (For the photo above I started layering from the outside and continued inward to create each rose layer.)
  6. Slowly pour in the apple cider and try not to disturb your pattern
  7. Bake until it is done! (I’m sure you have heard this phrase more often than you would like, but it is true.  If your crust was rolled thinner or thicker, if your apples were chucks versus slices baking time can only be guesstimated.  I bake by smells these days) Check your pie in 30 minutes and then every 5 after that

Let me know how this works for you.  Not up to baking?  Let me know I can make, freeze and ship it to you ready to bake!

Sweet regards,

The Sugar Peddler
Shop Sweet Olivia Rose on Etsy

 

5 thoughts on “Apple Pie Hold The Sugar

  1. Wowser! This looks yummy! And perfect for our desire to omit as much sugar as possible. Just out of curiosity, what do you charge if I were to order one? I CAN bake, but I work full time and by the time the weekend rolls around I’m not domestically inclined. Sigh.

  2. What a great dessert for the season! I have several diabetic family members who are very limited on how much of what they can eat for desserts (and a grandmother or has a sweet tooth the size of my candy crush game). I cant wait to try this out on them! Thanks so much for sharing. 😀

  3. Never a lack of interesting discoveries 🙂 And just in time too, my mother has been experiencing spikes in blood sugar. I’ll add this to my must-make list.
    – Jill @ kyaruandbunnies.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

