Recipe

Chocolate Chai

Have you ever stopped to check out your internet history for the day?  Can you see your thought patterns as you miss-click and your journey has stumbled down a rabbit hole that is so far away from where you started?  My internet adventure was serendipitous today!  I love the notion of chocolate and chai spices.  Usually I will grab a chai tea bag and add a teaspoon of cocoa.  But I wanted to eliminate the black tea leaves and find chai spice to add to my cocoa.  I started off looking for chai recipes.  I found a beautiful blog, Fit Foodie Finds, fell in love with the photos, and tried the recipe.

DIY Chai Spice Fit Foodie Finds

Absolutely delicious flavor, perfect balance of warming spices.  Yet I wanted more.  I wanted to remove the “powdery” after taste.  What if I kept the spices whole?

  CHAI SPICE chocolate_chai

And steeped it in 6 ounces of water?

The results were pure bliss.  You must give this a try.

Ingredients

  • 1 Cinnamon stick (broken in half)
  • 4 cloves
  • 12 cardamom pods
  • 1/2 inch piece of ginger
  • 6 allspice berries
  • 2 tsp cocoa
  • 6 ounces water

How To

  1. In medium sauce pot add all cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, vanilla bean, ginger, allspice, and water
  2. Bring to a boil
  3. Turn off heat and allow to steep for 15 minutes
  4. Whisk in cocoa
  5. Sweeten as you wish

chai collGE

Feeling warm and fuzzy?  Not up for sourcing out all the ingredients?  I would love to send you my spice pack!

chai collage

Sweet regards,

The Sugar Peddler
Shop Sweet Olivia Rose on Etsy

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Chai

Leave a Reply

